Is this safe? (Special Needs issue)

Mama!

I have pics that I will upload in a minute, but I wanted to ask about my ds's feeding pump.

It is small, weighs less than 1 lb, and fits in your palm nearly.

It lives in a small backpack , that I normally clip to something with a carabiner.

He is on the pump for 22 hrs a day, so not using it in the car isnt really an option.

He is hooked to it, and I run it to the back of the carseat, and hook it to the bar inside the headrest of the front passengers seat. The metal bar that runs vertically inside the headrest to raise it up and down.

Does this look okay? I'm not really sure what else I could do with it. I fear having an accident and it flying out of the car and ripping his feeding tube from his stomach. :eek:

PM for pics

Last edited:
ADS

An Aurora

Senior Community Member
I'd probably use a load-bearing caribiner but I would think it's much safer than the alternative of leaving it loose in the car!

jmm3

I'm not an expert, but I think that's a pretty good idea. We used to leave ours loose (I know, very bad) or when we had a bigger bag for the pump, we wrapped the bag handle around the front seat.

That's the Zevex Infinity with Supermini backpack right? The Zevex pumps are the best, so much better than the old Kangaroo Pet we had.

I had never thought of the tube ripping out of the stomach, yikes. I would hope that the bag would come out of the tube/extension first. But, if it makes you feel any better, once my dd pulled out her tube completely intact and she didn't even cry or bleed or anything, I just found it laying on the floor.

Mama!

I know so many who just toss the backpack in the backseat. But in the event of a wreck, that backpack could go through a window, pulling the tube with it.