Car seat recs needed for Jeep Compass 2021

minismom

Hi all,
I’m a former car seat tech and used to be a regular on this board. It’s been a while.

I’m hoping to get some help to pick seats for my brother. Because he’s abroad, I can’t readily test seats on his car. I have to bring them to him and hope it works. He has a 17 month old DD (30” and 20lbs) and a 4 month old DD (24” and 13lbs).

17mo is currently in a nextfit RF. She still needs the angle 2 for travel when she sleeps. When she’s awake they have it on 4.

4mo in in a key fit.

They have a Jeep Compass 2021 and my brother and his wife are both tall. The Nextfit is behind the driver. It fits but they don’t love it when my brother drives.

The main issue is that they often have a third adult that needs to sit in the back. Right now, both seats are in the outboard positions and the adult sits in the middle. My brother is worried that when the baby outgrows the infant carrier and he has two rear facing seats on outboard positions nobody will be able to climb past a seat to sit in the middle.

My first thought was to get him two Radians in hopes I can fit one in the center and leave an outboard position free. But I’m concerned that as long as at least one of the kids needs the seat reasonably reclined the Radia might take up too much space front to back.

My brother wants me to look into one of these newest seats that swivel and he thinks someone will able to climb to the center seat if he has one of those in one of the outboard positions. I’m skeptical and have no experience with any of these seats.